Larry Ochs – Gerald Cleaver / Songs of the Wild Cave

larry ochs: tenor and sopranino saxophones
gerald cleaver: drums, percussion


1. First Steps 9:05
2. Into The Air 5:16
3. Deeper 9:52
4. Down 5:46
5. Ringing It In 7:07
6. Rooted in Clay 8:59
7. Light From The Shadows 14:35

Total time 60:51

All pieces co-created by Gerald Cleaver (Gerald Cleaver Music / SESAC) and Larry Ochs (Trobar / ASCAP / admin. BMG)

Recorded at a secret cave in southwest of France on October 1, 2016. Sound engineer: Vincent Mahey. Assistant sound engineer: Arthur Gouret. Organized by Alban Jacques for Un Pave dans le Jazz. CD produced by Michel Dorbon. Mixing by Vincent Mahey.

Upon a 2014 invitation from Toulouse producer Alban Jacques, and with substantial support from Michel Dorbon of Rogue Art, Larry Ochs and Gerald Cleaver ventured - in 2016 — down 50 feet below the surface of the earth into a huge wild cave with very special acoustics, unique air quality, and pitch-black darkness; an engagement with the cave itself; thus a once-in-a-lifetime trio of improvised music.



— Alain Drouot January 2019

"From the first cavernous notes played by saxophonist Larry Ochs, listeners should sense something unusual. The explanation is quite simple, though.

This duo with drummer Gerald Cleaver was recorded in a cave located in southwest France. And because improvised music relies heavily on tones, textures and pitches, performers are particularly sensitive to the environment in which they play and constantly on the lookout for new experiences. That’s likely why Ochs and Cleaver agreed to venture into the unknown with the unique Songs Of The Wild Cave.

Luckily, both saxophonist and drummer find their footing, progressively engaging with their surroundings and gaining in assurance. On the opener, the aptly titled “First Steps,” Ochs is in probing mode while Cleaver opts for percussion devices that he gently shakes. As confidence builds, the saxophonist grows impassioned and forceful, and the drummer introduces beautiful thunderous rolls. From then on, rhythm becomes Cleaver’s main focus, whether launching into weighty patterns, gallops or polyrhythmic figures. The rich backdrop he provides allows Ochs to be grounded solidly and to deliver one of his strongest performances in recent memory."

Bandcamp audio